NOVA Award Changes for Cub Scouts (2018)

Do you have a Wolf, Bear, or Webelos Scout currently working on one of the BSA's NOVA awards? Did you know that they requirements have changed for 2018?
Click the link to read about the recent changes that will affect their progress.

See the NOVA Changes

NEW! Cub Scout Advancement Modifications (2017)

For 2017, modifications have been made to several requirements in each Cub Scout rank (Tiger, Wolf, Bear, Webelos). To help you and your Pack navigate these adjustments our Council has created a "cheat sheet" to identify those requirements in the current program that have either changed or been removed. Please refer to this document (Click Here) for a complete list. The full 57-page detailed descriptions document can be downloaded (click here), or by visiting

Cub Scout Modifications - "Cheat Sheet"
Cub Scout Modifications - Official BSA Document

 Polar Bear Award

Does your Boy Scout Troop like to camp in the COLD? Camp 4 or more nights in the winter with your Troop and you can earn the Polar Bear Award for braving the elements in the name of outdoor adventure!

Download the application here: Polar Bear Award

Questions? Contact Don Sadler (email)

Ozark Trails Council Advancement and Awards Policy (January 2016)

It is the policy of the Ozark Trails Council that advancement and restricted awards cannot be purchased without a completed Advancement Form.  This form documents with the council that the Scouts have earned the awards and rank advancements.  This document is used by the council to complete the documentation process. 

If a unit completes this form electronically for their own records, they simply need to print it out and bring it with them when purchasing awards.  The staff in the Joplin, Rolla and Springfield Scout Shops are not authorized to sell restricted awards without documentation.

In the case of a lost badge or someone with more than one uniform, the staff are able to deal with this on a case by case basis.  Unit advancement orders must be accompanied by an advancement form.  


BSA Complete Angler Award

Do you have a Boy Scout who is a "Complete Angler"? Scouts who have earned the Fishing, Fly Fishing, and Fish & Wildlife Management Merit Badges qualify to earn the BSA's Complete Angler Recognition Award. Simply complete the application form and bring to the Council offices to purchase the Complete Angler Patch from the Scout Shop.

Download and Complete the Form Here

Merit Badge Counselors 

The merit badge counselor is a key player in the Boy Scout advancement program. Whatever your area of expertise or interest—whether it is a special craft or hobby (basketry, leatherwork, coin collecting), a profession (veterinary medicine, aviation, engineering), or perhaps a life skill (cooking, personal management, communications)—as a merit badge counselor, you can play a vital role in stirring a young man's curiosity about that particular topic. By serving as a merit badge counselor, you offer your time, knowledge, and other resources so that Scouts can explore a topic of interest.

Apply to be a Merit Badge Counselor

RENEW Your Merit Badge Counselor Registration for 2018

*NOTE: If you are not currently registered as an adult volunteer, you must complete an Adult Application and complete Youth Protection Training before your application can be approved.

 NEW Eagle Scout Application 

With the recent changes to merit badge requirements for Eagle Scout, all new applicants are required to use the new application as part of the Life-to-Eagle process. Eagle Scout Application 


Volunteer Recognition

Looking for a way to recognize an outstanding volunteer in your Pack, Troop, or Crew? Take a look at the following opportunities to say Thank You. From Award Knots to Council and District Awards, there are lots of ways to make sure those who go the extra mile are recognized for their efforts.

Volunteer Award Knots - Click here

*NOTE: The above link is not an officila BSA website, but contains trusted information 

Silver Beaver/Golden Sun Award 

The Ozark Trails Council’s highest awards given to volunteers for outstanding service to Scouting programs and in their communities. Click here to download the form.

District Award of Merit
The Highest Award a District can award to a volunteer for exceptional service on a District level. Click here to download the form.